Speaking scars, #2

The second in our series of tattoo tales comes from Katie Creelman, knitter, baker, and lover of the written word (especially on skin).

Creelman_Tattoo_500

When I was 18 I made a promise to myself that I would only ever get a tattoo if I loved it for 10 years, this seemed the most sensible way to make sure I didn’t get a giant face tattoo of Buffy the Vampire Slayer on a drunken whim.

The lyrics were written by Dolly Parton, from ‘Eagle When She Flies’, and they hold a lot of meaning for me. I like to look down and see the words on tough days, and good days, to remember that I am strong even when I’m feeling broken. It’s a year old now, and it makes me as happy today as it did 11 years ago when I first imagined it.

Materiality: SURFACE is at the printers and will be available soon on the pinknantucket press shop—you could pre-order a copy, for only $15 + postage! And why stop there? Take care of all your Christmas shopping today and purchase copies for all your friends and family!